The end of the begining

Denmark 6/7:

Yesterday was the last day of orientation. It was a bittersweet farewell as I close this mini chapter and open the next.

img_0657

This is my house from the outside. The 3rd and 4th windows from the left are my bedroom windows.

I came here to study abroad and I haven’t done that at all yet, so I’m really okay with classes starting on Monday.

First thing in the morning was a presentation by a huge Danish consulting firm called Ramboll. They do a lot of civil engineering projects from bridges to buildings, to water projects. They are also hiring students for the semester to do work for them. I think I’m going to look into it a bit more and see what I can find.

The rest of the day was lunch, and a short presentation on this company that offers free Danish classes. I’m very torn because I’d love to spend time learning Danish, but I already have a list of like 4 other things that I would really like to do and I have to be realistic.

img_0655

I don’t know if I agree withe the sign, but I’ll always smile!

They gave us a couple hours to go home and change before we had to be back for the dinner. I ended up purchasing some black boots for 245 Kr. ($35). When we got there, they had these little cups of green liquid that I call “plant juice”.

img_0662

Dinner was 4 different small dishes, hot dogs, hamburgers, pita, and tacos (which they called tortillas). After we had eaten, the host got up and announced that everything we had eaten had been vegan! There was an audible gasp in the room. If this were America there probably would have been an outrage, but they did it as a way of showing vegan food isn’t all that bad.

We ended the night dancing at the student center which they call they s-house. Finally made it home to my comfy bed at around 1:30 am 😀

Today was a bit more chillax. I actually got to sleep in until 9 *gasp*, and then headed off to the train station to meet Maithili and Anouk. The train downtown was under construction so they had an extra fleet of buses transporting people to a new station.

When we arrived in downtown Copenhagen, the first thing we did was head to the Lego store. Did you know that the Legos were invented in Denmark? Planning on making a trip to Legoland sometime this semester.

After that we did some walking around. We wanted to see the Danish version of Starbucks and warm up a little, so we ducked inside the first one we could find. Later, we considered joining a tour group, but decided the 50 kroner ($7) wasn’t worth it and so instead we decided to take our own tour.

We first stopped at the Ripley’s Believe it or Not museum.

We were joined by Taylor after that and saw a castle and a church and seriously, the pictures just can’t do justice. We also saw the Little Mermaid. A well known statue that many flock to see, though once you see it, it’s really just your average statue.

We grabbed dinner at a place called Max’s burgers, a better version of Mcdonalds. In Denmark they make you pay for basically any side you would get. You also have to pay for refills at the counter. I’m still adjusting to the priciness of everything here.

The train brought us home and I finally got to hang up our group’s banner with the tape I purchased. All in all, it was quite a successful couple days!

img_0713

Leave a Reply

